Categories

Bob Dylan

 

Bob Dylan (born Robert Allen Zimmerman; May 24, 1941) is an American singer-songwriter, poet, and painter. He has been a major figure in music for five decades. Much of his most celebrated work dates from the 1960s when he was an informal chronicler, and an apparently reluctant figurehead, of social unrest. Though he is well-known for revolutionizing perceptions of the limits of popular music in 1965 with the six-minute single “Like a Rolling Stone,” a number of his earlier songs such as “Blowin’ in the Wind” and “The Times They Are a-Changin’” became anthems for the US civil rights and anti-war movements. His early lyrics incorporated a variety of political, social and philosophical, as well as literary influences. They defied existing pop music conventions and appealed hugely to the then burgeoning counterculture. Initially inspired by the songs of Woody Guthrie, Robert Johnson, Hank Williams, and the performance styles of Buddy Holly and Little Richard, Dylan has both amplified and personalized musical genres, exploring numerous distinct traditions in American song—from folk, blues and country to gospel, rock and roll, and rockabilly, to English, Scottish, and Irish folk music, embracing even jazz and swing.

Dylan performs with guitar, keyboards, and harmonica. Backed by a changing line-up of musicians, he has toured steadily since the late 1980s on what has been dubbed the Never Ending Tour. His accomplishments as a recording artist and performer have been central to his career, but his greatest contribution is generally considered to be his songwriting.

Since 1994, Dylan has published three books of drawings and paintings, and his work has been exhibited in major art galleries. As a songwriter and musician, Dylan has received numerous awards over the years including Grammy, Golden Globe, and Academy Awards; he has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, and Songwriters Hall of Fame. In 2008, a Bob Dylan Pathway was opened in the singer’s honor in his birthplace of Duluth, Minnesota. The Pulitzer Prize jury in 2008 awarded him a special citation for “his profound impact on popular music and American culture, marked by lyrical compositions of extraordinary poetic power.”

Discography

Studio Albums

1962 Bob Dylan – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-bob-dylan-1962/

1963 The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-the-freewheelin-bob-dylan/

1964 The Times They Are A Changin’ – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-the-times-they-a-changin/

1964 Another Side Of Bob Dylan – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-another-side-of-bob-dylan/

1965 Bringing It All Back Home – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-bringing-it-all-back-home/

1965 Highway 61 Revisited – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-highway-61-revisited/

1966 Blonde on Blonde - http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-blonde-on-blonde/

1967 John Wesley Harding – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-john-wesley-harding/

1969 Nashville Skyline – coming soon 21/05/2017

1970 New Morning – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bod-dylan-new-morning/

1973 Dylan – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-dylan/

1974 Planet Waves – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-planet-waves/

1983 Infidels – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-infidels/

1989 Oh Mercy – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-oh-mercy/

1990 Under the Red Sky – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-under-the-red-sky/

1997 Time Out Of Mind – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-time-out-of-mind/

Live Albums

Before The Flood – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-before-the-flood/

Hard Rain – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-hard-rain/

30th Anniversary Concert Celebraton -  http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-30th-anniversary-concert-celebration/

The Other Side Of The Mirror – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-the-other-side-of-the-mirror/

Compilations

Greatest Hits – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-greatest-hits/

Genuine Basement Tapes Volume 2 – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-genuine-basement-tapes-volume-2/

Genuine Basement Tapes Volume 4 – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-genuine-basement-tapes-volume-4/

Unofficial Live Albums (Bootlegs)

Sound Of Silence (Rose Garden, Portland, Oregon, June 12 1999) (With Paul Simon) – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-paul-simon-the-sound-of-silence-the-rose-garden-portland-oregon-june-12-1999/

Chasing A Shadow (Live Rothbury 2009) – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-chasing-a-shadow-live-rothbury-2009/

Live Woodstock 1994 – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan-live-woodstock-1994/

Under a Red Sky – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-under-the-red-sky/

Tales of Thunder 1976 – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/bob-dylan/bob-dylan-rolling-thunder-1976/

Leave a Reply