Blue Oyster Cult

Blue Öyster Cult is an American rock band formed in New York in 1967 and still active as of 2010. The group is well known for songs including “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper”, “Burnin’ for You” and “Godzilla”. They have sold over 14 million albums worldwide, including 7 million in the US alone. BOC were also ranked #55 on VH1′s The 100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock.


The band originated as a band called Soft White Underbelly (a name the band would later occasionally use in the 1970s and 1980s to play small club gigs around the U.S.) in 1967 in the vicinity of Stony Brook University on Long Island, New York, at the prompting of critic and manager Sandy Pearlman. Pearlman wanted the group to be the American answer to Black Sabbath. Pearlman was very important to the band—he was able to get them gigs, recording contracts with Elektra and Columbia, and he provided them with his poetry for use as lyrics for many of their songs, including “Astronomy”. Writer Richard Meltzer also provided the band with lyrics from their early days up through their most recent studio album. The band (with original lead vocalist Les Braunstein and bassist Andrew Winters) recorded an album’s worth of material for Elektra Records in 1968. When Braunstein departed in early 1969, Elektra shelved the album.

Eric Bloom (formerly the band’s acoustic engineer) replaced Braunstein, and the band continued to perform as Soft White Underbelly. However, a bad review of a 1969 Fillmore East show caused Pearlman to change the name of the band – first to Oaxaca, then to the Stalk-Forrest Group. The band recorded yet another album’s worth of material for Elektra, but only one single (“What Is Quicksand?” b/w “Arthur Comics”) was released (and only in a promo edition of 300 copies) on Elektra Records. (This album was eventually released, with additional outtakes, by Rhino Handmade Records as St. Cecilia: The Elektra Recordings in 2001). After a few more temporary band names, including the Santos Sisters, the band settled on Blue Öyster Cult in 1971.

New York producer and jingle writer David Lucas saw the band perform and took them into his Warehouse Recording Studio and produced a demo, with which Pearlman was able to get the renamed band another audition with Columbia Records. Clive Davis liked what he heard, and signed the band to the label. The first album was subsequently recorded on eight track at Lucas’ studio. Winters would leave the band and be replaced by Bouchard’s brother, Joe Bouchard.

Lyricists for Blue Öyster Cult include band members Donald Roeser, Albert Bouchard, producer Sandy Pearlman, and writers Richard Meltzer, Patti Smith, Michael Moorcock, Eric Von Lustbader, Jim Carroll and John Shirley.


Studio Albums

1972 Blue Oyster Cult –

1973 Tyranny and Mutation –

1974 Secret Treaties –

Mirrors –

Spectres –

Cultosaurus Erectus –

1981 Fire of Unknown Origin – Coming soon 09/11/2020

Unofficial Live Albums (Bootlegs)

1973. Agora Ballroom, Cleveland, Ohio –

1974 Live Baton Rouge –

1981 New Haven –

2006 Glasgow, Scotland –


Career of Evil –

Leave a Reply