Categories

Pink Floyd

Pink Floyd were an English rock band who earned recognition for their psychedelic music in the late 1960s, and as they evolved in the 1970s, for their progressive rock music. Pink Floyd’s work is marked by the use of philosophical lyrics, sonic experimentation, innovative album cover art, and elaborate live shows. One of rock music’s most critically acclaimed and commercially successful acts, the group have sold over 200 million albums worldwide, including 74.5 million certified units in the United States, making them one of the best-selling music artists of all time.

Pink Floyd were formed in 1965, and originally consisted of university students Roger Waters, Nick Mason, Richard Wright, and Syd Barrett. The group were a popular fixture on London’s underground music scene, and under Barrett’s leadership released two charting singles, “Arnold Layne” and “See Emily Play”, and a commercially and critically successful debut album, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn. In 1968, guitarist and singer David Gilmour joined the line-up, and Barrett was removed due to his increasingly erratic behaviour. Following Barrett’s departure, bass player and singer Roger Waters became the lyricist and dominant figure in the band, which went on to achieve worldwide critical and commercial success with the concept albums The Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here, Animals, and rock opera The Wall.

Wright left the band in 1979, and Waters in 1985, but Gilmour and Mason (joined by Wright) continued recording and touring under the name Pink Floyd. Waters used legal means to try to keep them from using the name, declaring Pink Floyd a spent force, but the parties reached an out-of-court settlement allowing Gilmour, Mason and Wright to continue as Pink Floyd. The band again enjoyed worldwide success with A Momentary Lapse of Reason (1987) and The Division Bell (1994), and Waters continued as a solo musician, releasing three studio albums. Although for some years relations between Waters and the remaining three members were sour, the band reformed in 2005 for what would be a final one-off performance at Live 8.

1963–67: early years

Formation

Roger Waters and Nick Mason met while they were both studying architecture at the London Polytechnic at Regent Street. They first played music together in a group formed by Keith Noble and Clive Metcalfe with Noble’s sister Sheilagh. Fellow architecture student Richard Wright joined later that year and the group became a sextet named Sigma 6, the first band to include Waters, Wright, and Mason. The band started performing during private functions, while rehearsing in a tearoom in the basement of the Regent Street Polytechnic. They performed songs by the Searchers and material written by their manager and songwriter, fellow student Ken Chapman.

In September 1963, Waters and Mason moved into a flat at 39 Stanhope Gardens, near Crouch End London, owned by Mike Leonard, a part-time tutor at the nearby Hornsey College of Art and the Regent Street Polytechnic. Mason moved out after the 1964 academic year, and guitarist Bob Klose moved in during September 1964. Sigma 6 went through a number of other transitory names, including the Meggadeaths, the Abdabs and the Screaming Abdabs, Leonard’s Lodgers, and the Spectrum Five before settling on the Tea Set. In 1964, as Metcalfe and Noble left to form their own band, Syd Barrett joined Klose and Waters at Stanhope Gardens. Barrett, two years younger, had moved to London in 1962 to study at the Camberwell College of Art. Waters and Barrett were childhood friends; Waters had often visited Barrett and watched him play guitar at Barrett’s mother’s house. Mason said this about Barrett: “In a period when everyone was being cool in a very adolescent, self-conscious way, Syd was unfashionably outgoing; my enduring memory of our first encounter is the fact that he bothered to come up and introduce himself to me.”

 

 

Discography

Studio Albums

1967 The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-the-piper-at-the-gates-of-dawn/

1968 A Saucer Full Of Secrets – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-a-saucerful-of-secrets/

1968 Soundtrack from the file More – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-soundtrack-from-the-film-more/

1969 Ummagumma – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-ummagumma/

1970 Atom Heart Mother – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-atom-heart-mother/

1971 Meddle – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-meddle/

1972 Obscured by clouds – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-obscured-by-clouds/

1973 Dark Side Of The Moon – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-dark-side-of-the-moon/

1975 Wish You Were Here – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-wish-you-were-here/

1977 Animals – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-animals/

1979 The Wall – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-the-wall/

1983 The Final Cut - http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-the-final-cut/

1987 A momentary lapse of reason –  http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-a-monmentary-lapse-of-reason/

1994 The Division Bell – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-the-division-bell/

2014 The Endless River – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-the-endless-river/

Live Albums

1988 The Delicate Sound Of Thunder – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-the-distant-sound-of-thunder/

1995 Pulse – Coming soon 09/01/2017

 

Unofficial Live Albums (Bootlegs)

Atom Heart Mother Goes On The Road – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-atom-heart-mother-goes-on-the-road/

Echoes In The Garden – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-echoes-in-the-garden/

A Perfect Ending To A Perfect Day (Live Boston June 1977) – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-a-perfect-ending-to-a-perfect-day-live-boston-june-1977/

Live Philedelphia 1994 (Sensory Overload) – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-live-philedelphia-1994-sensory-overload/

Live Colston Hall Bristol Somerset 1974 – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-live-colston-hall-bristol-somerset-1974/

Happy 40th – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-happy-40th/

Oink Oink Roof Roof Baa (Montreal’s Olympic Stadium, 6. July 1977) – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-oink-oink-roof-roof-baa-montreals-olympic-stadium-6-july-1977/

The Bell Gets Louder – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-the-bell-gets-louder/

The Wall OST – http://bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd/pink-floyd-the-film-the-wall-ost-podcast/

Trance Remixes

Meddle – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-meddle-limited-edition-trance-remix/

Dark Side Of The Moon – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-dark-side-of-the-moon-limited-edition-trance-remix/

Wish You Were Here – http://www.bopping-elf.co.uk/pink-floyd-wish-you-were-here-trance-remix/

Leave a Reply